State Bank Foundation

Our History

The State Bank Foundation was established in 2011 by the employees of State Bank, located in Freeport, Illinois. State Bank's commitment to give back to the communities we serve is a fundamental part of who we are as an organization.

State Bank employee volunteerism is a vital part of the Foundation's success. Our employees realize the importance of giving back to the communities where we live and work. Building a Foundation through employee dedication, perseverance and caring will provide a significant impact in strengthening our communities for future generations. This dedication led to the honor of being named "Not-For-Profit of the Year" by the Freeport Chamber of Commerce in 2018.

Our Mission

The State Bank Foundation was created in an effort to support worthwhile not-for-profit organizations and projects in the communities served by the Bank.

Our Mission Statement outlines our primary area of focus:

The State Bank Foundation will support art, health, youth and education programs that make a positive difference and encourage meaningful and sustainable change within the communities we serve.

The Foundation raises funds each year through a series of events, including a golf outing, silent auction and other fundraising projects.


One grant cycle is held annually with preference given to organizations with a local focus.

Grant recipients must be currently recognized as tax-exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Grant applications are available upon request. Submitted applications will be reviewed and recommended by the State Bank Foundation Grant Committee. Final grant approval will be made by the State Bank Foundation's Board of Directors and a letter mailed to the successful applicants announcing their award. A follow-up report on the results of the project or program funded will be required.

The State Bank Foundation announces the 2017 grant recipients. Click here to read more.

Board of Directors

Mary Hartman

President, State Bank

Derrick Schubert

Credit Analyst/Support Services Officer, State Bank

Tonya Lower

Vice President, State Bank

Ken Thompson

Partner, Fehr-Graham Engineering & Environmental

Yvette Afflerbaugh

Vice President, State Bank

Joe Vaske

Co-Owner of M45 Marketing Services

Andrea Moring

Assistant Vice President, State Bank

Amy Rush

Consumer Services Officer, State Bank

Beth Bastian

Assistant Vice President & Trust Officer, State Bank


  • President — Joe Vaske
  • Vice President — Mary Hartman
  • Secretary — Andrea Moring
  • Treasurer — Amy Rush

The State Bank Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization. All donations are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. Please consult your tax advisor for additional information.